WISE CHEF LIFE#1

#Father’sLegacy

PROLOUGE

“It’s really good.

“How could this taste exist in the world!”

“How the hell did you make it? Tell me the secret.”

Anyone who has tried Cha Hae-joon’s dish has asked such a question.

Every time Hae-joon said calmly with his unique smile.

“There’s nothing special. It’s just made of fresh and good ingredients.

Every drop of oil you eat is what I’ve grown and made with all my heart and soul.”

“All the vegetables in here?”

“Yes.”

“No way, and meat too?”

“Of course.”

“No wonder… that’s why it tastes so good. It’s amazing.”

The customer nodded in admiration after hearing the story. But in the back of my mind,

I was sure he had his own secret recipe that he didn’t reveal to anyone.

But the truth, as it turns out, it is not a secret recipe book. The secret to the real taste lies in the ingredients grown on the farm. From the rich Mother Nature to the harvest by sowing seeds, there’s nothing that Hae-joon can’t reach.

“I envy you. Can I see the farm?”

“That’s impossible.”

Chef Cha Hae-joon farm was in a special place that could not be disclosed to anyone.

#1

Courruk-
Hae-joon was cleaning up his luggage to get out of the room, but he paused to stop at the insensitive sound.

“I’m still hungry.”

Today is the last day of Goshiwon.

People who leave this small space, which is about a pyeong, are usually divided into two categories. Pass the civil service examination you wanted so much that you left confidently or failed repeatedly and leave like a fugitive.

Cha Hae-joon was the latter.

It wasn’t that he didn’t try. Rather, I woke up first and studied harder than anyone else until the late. I worked at a convenience store at night and worked hard at a private academy during the day, but I still failed.

Even the bank account balance is low.

Suddenly, it occurred to me that this is not the way. Just do some hard work. Save some money.
I revised my goal to open a point, and today I’ve been working on for three years.

It is the day to leave Goshiwon of Noryangjin.

“Let’s eat first. They say the color of the dead ghost is good, too.”

Hae-joon, who stuffed old and worn-out books into her bag, grabbed her stomach and went to a double-decker joint kitchen. With the consideration of the owner, you can eat ramen, rice, and kimchi however you want.
Most of the exam students who did not have enough time to eat here.

“Ramen…”

I put my hand in the ramen box on the shelf next to the sink, but it was empty.

‘Ah, there isn’t any?

Just in case, I searched everywhere in the cupboard.
A bag of ramen I found fortunately by the time I gave up. Someone prepares for an emergency like now. The expiration date has passed for about a week, as if I had forgotten it.

“A week or so. You won’t get sick if you eat it.”

Until now, I have lived without attaching any special meaning to eating.

Whether it tastes good or not, it just fills the stomach when it’s time for meals. Fortunately, (?) is a common saying. I ate it as I didn’t care about the taste because it tastes like crap. But somehow, I wanted to eat the last meal at the circle properly.

‘Although it’s expired, it’s the last supper….’

“Let’s eat deliciously enough to remember!” But the taste might not be good.

Hae-joon’s cooking skills were terrible. Ramen was always bland or cold, and the simple fried eggs were often burned.

‘Do you want to make breakfast with Hae-joon and Dad while Mom sleeps? Surprise breakfast.
When? Yeah! Good. By the way, Dad. Hae-joon doesn’t know how to do anything.
It’s okay. It’s very easy. You just have to do what’s written on the back of here.’

A conversation came to mind in the old memory. A very unpleasant memory with one’s father

Hae-joon smiled bitterly and slowly read the recipe on the back of the ramen bag.

[550 ml (2 and 3/4 cups) of water]
Boil the water, then the powder soup and noodles.
Add it and simmer for 4 more minutes.
Add appropriate amount of powder soup according to your taste, Kimchi,
It tastes better with green onions, eggs, etc.]

Although it was written so generously, Hae-joon has never read the recipe.
When I read the recipe on the back of the wrapping paper, I also recalled memories that I didn’t want to recall. But I wanted to eat delicious ramen today.

It’s the last dinner we’ve had in the old Goshiwon for three years.

“Two cups of water and three quarters….

Hae-joon took out a pot and a cup and received the tap water as ordered.
When measuring water according to the recipe, it stopped accurately at the white line.

“Is it this good?”

You just have to put it in before. I didn’t even know it was simple.
Hae-joon, who scratched his head, tore off the cut line of the vegetable soup and poured it into cold water, and turned the gas lever vigorously to the left.

Tuck. TikTikTik-

A magically red flame was created with a roaring sound, and the flame quickly burned steadily and turned blue.

The peeled and crushed shape of flames are coming up from the pot. Hae-joon stared blankly at the flames. Somehow my head went blank looking at it.

As if I were hypnotizing, my mind was relaxed.

I understood a little about the feelings of the people who made bonfires at the camping site.

Boogle Boogle-

The water quickly boiled up.

Hae-joon put in half the noodles and powder soup, and a mobile phone stopwatch set at four minutes. I pressed the button. The hard side of the red soup was slightly loosened.

Soon, the unique spicy scent of ramen spread in the kitchen, and Hae-joon’s stomach, where the sense of smell reacted, made a rumbling sound again.

‘The smell is amazing.’

I swallowed my drool and look alternately between the pot and the liquid crystal. No wonder time flows slower than usual.

Finally.

Is it done? Is it done?

Four minutes have passed, which was longer than usual.

Hae-joon turned off the gas fire, and moved the boiling ramen to the pot on the table.
It’s a simple dish with only ramen and kimchi, but the steamy ramen is…
It looked more appetizing than the sour taste.

‘Is it because of the recipe?’

“Oops, I’m going to blow it. I should eat quickly.”

No more appreciating.

Hae-joon, who picked up the chopsticks in a hurry, blew up the ripe noodles and shoved it right into his mouth.

The chewy noodles, which were neither unfurled nor unfamiliar, were wrapped around my tongue with ecstasy.

“Ahhh…” Ha… Um… Huh… It’s delicious.” An outburst of exclamation.

“What’s the taste of this soup?”

Slurping.

The soup tasted great.

The soup, which was measured according to the standard amount, was suitable for the liver and the spicy taste was excellent. I ate all the noodles in no time because I moved the chopsticks without a break.

For adult men, a bag of ramen is not enough to fill their stomachs.

“What a shame.”

Hae-joon, who was staring at the red soup in the pot, opened the lid of the electric rice cooker.
Fortunately, when I opened the pot lid, there was half a bowl of cold rice left.

“Ramen soup in cold rice, too.”

I scratched the last grain of rice and put it into the soup. Soon, between the red soups, ramen soups are absorbed and grains of rice are floating.

A newly started second meal.

Using the spoon, scoop up the rice and put a piece of kimchi on top of it. As soon as it entered my mouth, the grains of rice popped up in a pleasant taste.

The ramen soup with cold rice is just right.

After finishing his final dinner at Goshiwon, Hae-joon wiped the sweat off his forehead.
I emptied the soup neatly. A very satisfying meal.

“Thank you for the delicious food….”

He leaned his back on the chair saying thank-you without a subject.

I was enjoying the feeling of fullness while stroking the belly section.

“Good morning, Hae-joon.”

Go Si-won, who had known each other for three years, greeted in the kitchen cheerfully.

“Did you cook ramen?”

“Yes, I’m getting hungry all of a sudden. I made one to celebrate my last time here.”

The general manager’s expression became solemn when he said in a way that he felt sorry for where he was.

“Last time? Oh, come to think of it, today is the day to take out the room, right?”

“Yes, thank you for taking good care of me.”

“Did you give up the disclosure? That’s too bad. I thought Hae-joon would pass the exam and go out confidently. You worked harder than anyone else.”

“Working hard doesn’t make everything work. It wasn’t for me.”

He smiled awkwardly but replied with a relaxed expression.

“Have you decided what to do?”

“Not yet.”

“So, you’re going back to your home?”

“No, I’m alone.

“Alone? Ah!” a slight sigh of sorriness.

“Then how?

“I’ll have to find a place to stay from now on. Something new to do again.

“Hae-joon will succeed no matter what he does. You’re an honest man.
I can guarantee it.”

“Ha-ha. Thank you.”

Hae-joon greeted me with a unique and impressive smile.

The conversation was cut off, and the awkward air flowing between the two, and the general manager, who was rolling his eyes to change the subject, said with a flick of his finger.

“Oh! Right. I almost forgot.”

“Yeah? What?”

“Mail.”

“Mail?”

“I have a mail that arrived in front of Hae-joon the day before yesterday. I almost forgot.”

‘Mail? There’s no one who could send one to me.’

While tilting his head, the general manager ran quickly and came back with a letter envelope.

“Where did it come from?”

Last Chapter

Next Chapter

One thought on “WISE CHEF LIFE#1

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started