WISE CHEF LIFE #2

“Where did it come from?”

“I think from a lawyer? See for yourself.”

Hae-joon, who received the letter, checked the front of the envelope. The sender is a lawyer’s office in Seoul.

What about the lawyer?

I hurriedly opened the envelope and checked the letter out of curiosity. There were some documents in it.

“The inheritance of property on the death of missing person?”

[The life and death of the above absentee has been considered unclear for five years. Accordingly, our law firm will submit to the heir designated child (Cha Hae-joon) the inheritance process of the absentee’s property according to the contents of the will….]

Hae-joon’s expression, which checked the contents to the end, became complicated

I’m inheriting a property? My father’s?

Eight years ago.

By the time Hae-joon was in middle school, his father suddenly ran away from home and his whereabouts were unknown. Perhaps because of the shock, my mother passed away three years later, leaving Hae-joon alone in the world.

The first news I heard from my father who I thought was doing well somewhere, was a news, which was an obituary for a missing person.

Somehow Hae-joon’s appetite became bitter.

“What?” asked the general manager, who was waiting to read the letter by Hae-joon’s side with a curious look.

Hae-joon gave some facts except personal history with a grim face.

“Inheritance of absentee property? What if Hae-joon is having a good luck?

You’re going to inherit the legacy.”

“Legacy?” a forgotten legacy from one’s father.

Somehow Hae-joon’s mind became complicated.

“That’s great. Things were tough for you.”

“But I don’t know if I can accept this.”

“Does it matter? He’s your father. After five years of legal disappearance,

When the death sentence is issued, the property is automatically inherited by the immediate descendants. By any chance, you don’t have any brothers, do you?”

When the major news came out after a long time, the general manager said excitedly.

“Yes, I don’t.”

“What did he leave behind as a legacy? Building or land? Or a large life insurance policy?

These days, if there’s land in a candidate site for a new town, it’s a lotto.”

“Well, I don’t know. It doesn’t say that.”

“Let’s go to the lawyer’s office here. It’s not far from here near the Southern Court.”

Hae-joon hesitated for a moment at the secretary’s words.

It’s been a long time since he erased the word father from his life. Although I had nothing, I didn’t want my father’s legacy. It’s just…

“If I go there, will I know my father’s past history?”

“Well… I would have written a will through the office, and I would have known about my son if I had acted on behalf of you in this and that.””

Hae-joon was curious about what his father had been doing for three years before he went missing, so after running away from home.

What made you abandon me and my mother….

Hae-joon wanted to know the reason.

“You’re going, aren’t you?'”

“Yes.”

“That’s a good idea. It’s your father’s legacy.”

After saying good-bye to the general manager, Hae-joon returned to his room, hurry up and pack his bags and came outside the Goshiwon.

I took Line 9 from Noryangjin Station and transferred from Yeouido to Mokdong Station on Line 5.

Walking all the way up the boulevard, I saw a large court building across it.

There were several tall buildings where the entire building was a lawyer’s office.

‘Is it here?’

After several times, Hae-joon managed to find the lawyer’s office on the outside of the envelope.

WISE CHEF- CHAPTER 2

“Well….”

“What brings you here?”

A neat, well-dressed woman sitting at the information desk opened the office door when I walked in. I found Hae-joon and asked with a bright smile.

“I got this mail.”

“Oh, can you sit on the sofa and wait a moment?”

The employee who checked the documents given by Hae-joon disappeared too somewhere.

After a while,

“Nice to meet you. I’m lawyer Kim In-cheol.”

A middle-aged man with a neat hairstyle appeared in a neat suit and greeted him with his business card.

“This is Cha Hae-joon. Because of the mail you sent me….”

“You’re welcome.”

The lawyer put the will and some court documents on the table that he was wearing on his side.

“This is because the heir has appeared, so he must inherit the property according to the procedure.”

“Wait a minute—the papers are a little complicated.”

“Yes, take your time. I read the documents you sent me, and my father is missing….”

“That’s right. He’s been missing for more than five years and he’s been dead in court.”

“In fact, he left home long before that.”

“I see.”

“But it’s strange to hear that it’s sudden death and inheritance.”

“Oh, yes.”

The lawyer answered in a businesslike manner, examining the documents as if he were not interested in personal history.

“It’s a legacy, but when I get here, I find out about my father’s behavior.

I’m here.

Are you familiar with my father?”

“No, we don’t know about the client’s private life either.”

The lawyer found Hae-joon’s father in his office a while before he went missing.

He drew the line, saying, “I just do my work within the scope of my request.

“As you can see from the document, your father has been missing for five years and has been under legal process.”

“I see. So, no one’s ever seen the body?”

“Well, for now, but in this case, he’s most likely dead.

You didn’t hide your life in debt, but you left a legacy.

Oh, can I see your ID? I need to check myself through the procedure.”

Hae-joon opened his wallet at the lawyer’s request and took out his resident registration card and handed it to him.

I saw an old picture of more than 10 years old that I had put behind my ID card. my parents in elementary school

It was a family photo taken by visiting a amusement park somewhere in the department.

Although he folded his father’s seat and made it invisible.

Hae-joon, who hesitated for a while, took out the picture and unfolded the folded part.

Between my father and Hae-joon, there was a solid line as deep as the years of separation.

“It’s confirmed. Then, we will follow the process of inheriting the inheritance to our son Cha Hae-joon according to the client’s will. These are the inheritance items.”

The lawyer stuck out a thick briefcase and paper.

“What’s this?”

“We don’t know what the contents are because they’re sealed and stored.

And this is the building register of the building that you left as a legacy. Well, the address says it’s around here.  There’s a single-story building with an area of 200 square meters. It’s probably a house. With that much real estate in this neighborhood, the city’s worth a billion to 1.5 billion. It’s a bit bad, but you’re lucky.”

I was a little surprised by the large amount of money, the unexpected amount of money, which is equivalent to winning the first prize in the lotto.

Nevertheless, I did not forget that the reason why I visited this place was to find my father’s whereabouts.

Hae-joon opened the sealed envelope and checked the contents.

There was an old note and a key in it.

What is it?

Handwritten notes include how to grow crops and food recipes.

The missing things were written, and the key was not the key used these days, but the old bronze key that was seen in antique shops.

“Oh, but there’s an unusual condition attached.”

“Conditions?”

“Yes.”

Unlike when he said that he had a windfall with an envious look, he looked embarrassed.

“Never sell or tear down buildings containing inherited land? “There’s a condition like this.”

“Yes, sir.” a content completely irrelevant to Hae-joon.

Anyway, his interest was not in the building, but his father’s whereabouts.

Anyway, if you go there, you’ll get a little hint.”

Hae-joon hurriedly signed the document submitted by the lawyer.

“Are we done now?”

“Yes, I’ll contact you separately when the documents are processed.

Do you have any questions?”

“No, for now.”

“If you have any questions, please call your business card number.”

“Thank you.”

“Go home safely.”

Hae-joon, who left the lawyer’s office, turned on a cell phone map app.

The destination was located about 400 meters away from the office.

Hae-joon followed the direction of the map and entered a small alleyway next to the building forest.

Not long after walking, there was a very different landscape than before.

There were large shopping malls, apartments, and narrow alleys where a car could barely pass instead of a 10-lane road, and it was a very quiet alley with only occasional human traffic.

I turned around and walked for about 5 minutes and arrived at my destination.

“Here it is.”

Last Chapter

Next Chapter

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started