Top Chef with Hidden Quest #9

When Bora arrived at the office, she cleaned up everything and checked the time, it was 8:30.

Four salads were stacked on the desk.

‘Did I really bring that many?’

Bora, in fact, skipped breakfast.

Besides, I didn’t like salad.

Salad isn’t something you eat for taste; it’s something you eat for health or diet.

When I saw the boss, who had been ignored on the main road, I took a lot of it out of pity, but if I tried to share this, I’ll have a lot of trouble.

‘Hey, this guy’s coming.’

Bora, who had just arrived at work, could now only speak to Min Ji-hye in the office.

It was still a little awkward to approach strangers and talk to them first.

It was my first job, so I was very nervous.

‘First, let’s eat one.’

Bora opened the salad cask and rubbed the contents lightly with a fork.

‘To be honest, there are only vegetables.’

Lettuce, red cabbage, onion, and cherry tomatoes I can’t complain because it’s free.

Bora, on the other hand, sniffed her nose without her knowledge as soon as she opened the dressing container.

“What?”

I lifted the transparent container and examined the contents as if I were evaluating jewelry, but it was just regular balsamic dressing.

But strangely, my mouth began to water.

The vegetables were coated with a glossy finish and a sweet and sour scent after the dressing was spread over them and gently mixed with a disposable fork.

Pick the vegetables with a fork and put it in your mouth.

“Sigh…?”

The freshness exploded.

The sweetness of the fruit juice, the sourness of vinegar that fits in your mouth, the weight of olives, the bitterness and crunchiness of vegetables.

All of these flavors blended together and tickled my tongue. At the end, a faintly spicy scent emerged, enticing a unique taste.

“Was the salad like this?”

My hands kept moving after I ate it. My body was waking up. Even the heart is feeling revitalized.

I took a bite, then another, and so on.

“Look, what do you find so appetizing?”

As soon as he went to work, Min Ji-hye was smiling while looking at Bora.

“I felt it yesterday, but Bora is an excellent eater.”

“Ah, no, I’m not.”

“Yes, you are. You didn’t even notice that I was approaching, and you ate without hesitation.”

Bora sticks out her tongue. Bora, to be honest, had a tricky taste.

“Please try one of the salads. I’m not kidding.”

“No, what salad did you bring?”

“In front of this office, President Han’s Kitchen gave it to me. Have you seen it?”

“Oh, I was driving.”

“Anyway, give it a shot! It’s a new realm for salads!”

Ji-Hye, reluctantly accepting one, tried to return to his station.

“Try it right now!”

“All right, cool, okay, okay.”

I had no choice but to open the sealed container and taste it because Bora was blocking the path.

“Oh!”

“How is it?”

With his eyes wide open, Ji-Hye expressed surprise that he had cleared his resentment.

“Wow, this is really amazing! How can a salad made of vegetables be so delicious?”

“Right?”

“No, seriously. In fact, if you eat it at a restaurant, it’s all about the salad, right?”

“Ugh… that’s right. The vegetables, in particular, are extremely dull, but the dressing is far too salty. So, I don’t eat either.”

“I know, but it’s perfectly seasoned. Did he add fruit?”

“Isn’t the dressing too transparent for that?”

I had no idea when the conversation would come to an end.

Another female employee approached as she saw Ji-Hye and Bora discussing the salad.

“Hey, what kind of salad are you obsessing over?”

Bora only met the female employee yesterday. The main officer was Nomi-ran from the next department. She’s about 40 years old.

In contrast to Ji-Hye, who is in his 30s, her age range was so high that she was nervous for some reason.

“Would you like to try it?”

Somehow, I felt confident and handed her a fork.

“Oh? Where did this come from?”

“Is it delicious?”

“It’s really different. I don’t think anything was added into it!”

“Right?”

It makes me feel better if you tell me that the food, I think is delicious is also delicious.

Bora found herself conversing with the staff of the department next to her as well as another.

“What is so delicious that only three people are eating it secretly?”

“Oh, I’d like to have a bite as well!”

Two more people from the next department came up to Bora’s seat, and a small tasting party was held.

Because there were five of us, the salad was gone in no time.

“Is it already finished?”

“Because there weren’t a lot of them.”

I didn’t even take a bite. I couldn’t even eat this way.

“I’ll remove it.”

Bora removed empty bins, hiding her regrets.

I had a dark look on my face.

I wanted to tell you to go to Han-Gil’s for lunch today, but I said it yesterday, and Ji-Hye turned around and refused.

Should I go to eat there while pretending to have something to do for lunch? No, this is my second day at work; is it too unpleasant?’

Bora’s seat was still crowded when I returned with these thoughts.

“Ms. Bora, are we going to Han’s Kitchen for lunch today?”

“Yes! Of course!”

Bora responded with a bright smile, but her expression quickly darkened.

It’s now 9AM.

There were still three hours until lunchtime.

#

Han-Gil returned to the store and finished preparing the ingredients for the lunch business before attempting to make a salad for the second time.

This was because I was concerned about the 35% completion rate I saw earlier in the day.

‘Without a doubt…its insufficient.’

Some of the disadvantages became apparent as the freshness of the olive oil faded.

There was also a lack of chewy texture, and I used iceberg lettuce, which was boring because it was too moist. I also required a savory scent as well as a substantial amount of protein.

There is nothing bad with cheese.

I know that, but…

‘It’s too expensive….’

Adding one chicken breast increases the cost too much. Vegetables are also becoming more expensive these days.

Cheese is the price of gold.

All of Han-restaurant Gil’s menus were unified in 6,500 won.

If you don’t lower the price even that much, you’ll lose even the coming lunch customers.

How much should I pay for a salad in a restaurant where rice costs 6,500 won?

I draw out a small notepad and jot down what low-cost materials are available.

“…. Are you open now?”

I noticed a woman opening the door slightly and squinting out through the gap.

It’s still 11:40 a.m.

“Of course, yes. “How many of you are there?”

“There are six of them.”

“Because there are no separate seats for six, you must share a seat for four and two.” Is that all right?”

“Of course.”

The women rushing into the store looked at the few menus and asked a question right away.

“Is there no salad?”

“Because the menu is still being finalized, we do not sell it separately.”

The moment she saw her face of disappointment openly, Han Gil added in haste.

“But I’m going to include it as a side dish on all menus. I’ll give you a little more generously.”

As I took the order and dashed to the kitchen to start cooking, I noticed customers coming in one by one.

“Boss, this is my order!”

All seats are taken.

It’s not even 12 o’clock yet.

There are only eight tables, so it’s not a huge number, but it was the first time that so many people arrived at the same time.

“How long do you think the wait will be, Boss?”

There were even about five or six people waiting outside the store.

It was the first time this had happened to me since starting this business.

Last Chapter

Next Chapter

One thought on “Top Chef with Hidden Quest #9

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started